Death As A Spiritual Event

One of my favorite quotes as a hospice chaplain states; “Death is a spiritual event with medical implications.” Gwendolyn London.

I had the privilege and opportunity today to attend the death of a patient who died with his loving family surrounding him. This patient died as we surrounded him and prayed for him.

Spirituality is defined as the human desire to find meaning in life and the universal search for that meaning. This search is grounded in the awareness that we are part of some reality that is greater than ourselves.

The timing of this patient’s death that occurred during prayer, while being surrounded by family, speaks to the heart of his spirituality that was grounded in his love and faith in God and his love for his family.

What a privilege and honor to be a part of such a sacred time in the life of this patient and family.

About gemmygem2013

I am a hospice chaplain, wife of 30 years and a woman with a heart for hope and healing and hospitality. The word "Bikos" is a Greek word which means Earthen Vessel. My life prayer has been "Make me a vessel that brings honor and glory to Your name." This is taken from the scripture verse that talks about becoming a vessel of honor 2 Timothy 2:20; "Now in a large house there are not only gold and silver vessels, but also vessels of wood and of earthenware, and some to honor and some to dishonor." As a human, I see myself as a vessel seeking to bring honor to God through all that I say and all that I do. Sometimes that vessel is solid and strong, bringing honor and glory to God's name, and sometimes that vessel is cracked, in need of repair. As a hospice chaplain, I see the individuals and families that I work with as vessels of God, seeking either to be healed or seeking to bring healing to the world around them. Either way, we are all vessels of God, The Divine One, The God of Relationships. It is my belief that we are all seeking how to live in relationship with ourselves, with others, and with God. Some are further along on this path than others. This blog will be about myself as I learn what it means to become a vessel of honor and glory, about my life as a hospice chaplain, and the struggles I deal with in the day to day journey walking with others in hospice and in life. Blessings and Shalom
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

